Percentage allocation of zone impressions

rick

18 Nov, 2013 06:24 PM

I am new to AdvertServe and am in the process of configuring two leaderboard zones for my website. In a beta test that I'm currently running, I see that if I assign two campaigns to a single zone, they each get 50% allocation. Is there a way to assign arbitrary percentages to each campaign, for example 80% for one and 20% for another?

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Mike Cherichett... on 18 Nov, 2013 08:12 PM

Hi Rick,

Yes, it's possible to adjust the allocation of impressions for each campaign.

What you want to do is edit the zone and then click on the Edit Campaigns link in the upper right corner. At the bottom of the page you'll see an Adjust Assignments section that lists each of the campaigns that are assigned to the zone. There is a Priority column with a drop down from 1-100 that you can use to adjust the allocation for each campaign. Setting the campaigns to have priorities of 80 and 20 would give you the desired 80% to 20% split.

I wrote a nice article about how this works a while back that you may want to read for a little more in-depth explanation of how it works: http://www.advertserve.com/blog/2011/08/using-chains-priority/

Thanks,
    Mike

2. 2 Posted by rick on 18 Nov, 2013 08:26 PM

hi Mike,

Thanks for the fast response! Coincidentally, I just discovered and was reviewing this page in your online manual:

http://www.advertserve.com/docs/latest/html/manual/bestpractices.html#chains_priority

...and saw that it answered my question. But I'll also read your in-depth article to get more insight.

FYI, I publish LinuxGizmos.com, a news website devoted to the use of embedded and mobile versions of linux (including android etc.) in devices, equipment, and other applications.

I may have a couple of followup questions as I proceed. Can I email direct to you, or should I post the questions as I did with the one you just answered?

best,
    Rick